On watching the incident, Sunil Gavaskar ended had up saying “Ashwin tried to Brown Finch” on the televison and now he has explained why he did so. Sunil Gavaskar has said that it was Bill Brown, the Australian who did the mistake of leaving the crease early and that Vinoo Mankad just did what he had to do according to the rule book.
Sunil Gavaskar expressed disappointement that even Indians and Indian media use the name of legendary Vinoo Mankad for something which is considered “unsportsmanlike” in the cricketing world.
“Vinoo Mankad is a legend of Indian cricket, one of the great all-rounders who has won matches for India. And you use his name for, what is looked at by the cricketing world, as unsportsmanlike behaviour that’s not acceptable to me. I don’t want an Indian legend’s name to be disparaged. It baffles me why so many in the Indian media keep using that word as if they don’t have any respect for any Indian legends. As Indians, we should be the last to encourage such usage. That’s why yesterday on television, I said Ashwin tried to Brown him. Because Bill Brown was at fault in 1947 and not Vinoo Mankad,” Sunil Gavaskar has said in an interview to The Indian Express.
The Indian legend came up with a brilliant example to prove why ‘Mankading’ can not be called something which is against the ‘Spirit of Cricket’. He argued why isn’t a batsman given out even if a single extra fielder is outside the 30-year circle by few centimetres.
Gavaskar took a dig at Aaron Finch for doing the mistake which his compatriot did back in 1947.
“The reason why this has become a moral issue is this so-called spirit of cricket, which is mythical. Just like the line the Australians say they never cross on the field. Even that is mythical; no one knows where that line is. It’s beyond me why getting the batsmen out at the bowler’s end one who is trying to take undue advantage by stepping out be considered unsportsmanlike.
“They have fielding restrictions that stipulate a minimum number of players within the 30-yard circle and if someone stands just a foot outside, then that’s ruled a no-ball. If someone gets out that ball, it’s not out. I have no issues with it, as that’s the rule. Why is it okay if a batsman does it at the non-striker’s end? In today’s time, thanks to technology, a batsman is run out even if it’s just millimeters and we fuss so much with endless replays to rule it out. It’s because of the mythical spirit of cricket, applied arbitrarily. Aaron Finch was almost a yard or yard-and-a-half down before Ashwin had released the ball. Just imagine the advantage the non-striker has.
“The first thing that struck me when I saw that was when will the Aussies learn? Because it happened to Bill Brown in 1947 and we are in 2020; they still haven’t learnt. The simple thing is you have to look at the bowler and move out when he releases. You can’t look at the batsman, like Finch was doing and walk out of the crease. The law is clear. It’s as simple as that,” Sunil Gavaskar said.